Reusing instead of Recycling

Section 6 of the Closed Substance Cycle Waste Management Act (KrWG) regulates the five-level waste hierarchy. This defines the sequence in which waste must be handled.

  1. Prevention
  2. Preparation for reuse
  3. Recycling
  4. Other recovery, in particular energy recovery and backfilling
  5. Removal

Our idea refers to the first two points of this hierarchy.


On point 1: Waste prevention

The IT hardware should be remarketed and further used before it becomes waste.


On point 2: Preparation for re-use

After the IT hardware has become waste, it should be professionally tested, for example by a waste disposal company in accordance with ElektroG2. Thus, the IT hardware could lose its waste property and be remarketed.